excited

7 11 2008

in my last post I wrote about inspiration and excitement. when I look at artwork like the following three simple pencilsketches for disney’s BAMBI, I get excited. the first time I saw artwork like that I was so depressed, because I was pretty sure I would never reach that artistic level. that still happens once in a while to me today, maybe it is normal. but at the same time it is the start of a process, to develop the right amount of energy to go through all the painful steps of a learning period. and the more excitement you develop the less painful it will be, it will be fun. the tiniest successful results will catapult you forward with lightspeed. and the more you learn the wider your eyes are open to appreciate what the world of art is offering you.
the pencil sketches following are called ‘tonals’. they were supposed to show the background painter the dark and light values in the scene. tonals had to be done extra because dark areas would have made it impossible to give the painter precise linear information. the sizes of these tonals varied, I have seen stampsize sketches, sometimes even framed with black cardboard. over the years from BALTO to MULAN I have seen a wide variety of tonals. but none of them came close to the ones that were created for BAMBI so many years ago.

bambi070

bambi066

bambi072

© disney enterprises, inc

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 11 2008
Julia Lundman

thank you so much for posting these tonals and backgrounds from Bambi. this movie has been a profound influence on me artistically. i have always felt strongly that the paintings from Bambi were not fully appreciated by the art world at large, and that I believe is due to lack of exposure.

seeing these tonals both depresses me for the reasons you mention, and also inspires me tremendously. like listening to a beautiful piece of music, looking at these drawings is a joy in and of itself. they are simply stunning.

thank you, hans!

-julia

9 11 2008
Nancy Beiman

These are exquisite tonals. BAMBI is one of my favorite animated films since it is just so gorgeous…there are very few wrong notes (Okay, only one: the appearance of Mrs. Thumper is totally different from the other naturalistic animals in the film…she wears makeup, which I have always found annoying.)

The love that went into every frame of this film shows on screen, and fortunately none of the difficulties–for BAMBI was a troubled production that took a very long time to make. It was actually in production in 1935, but Disney wisely put it into turnaround and went ahead with SNOW WHITE, which was a broader, more caricatured feature, first. Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnston’s book on the making of BAMBI should be in everyone’s library…it was a lengthy, sometimes painful experience, but look at the gorgeous results!

11 11 2008
Andrei

Happy Birthday, Hans!!!!!
I wish you all the best !

from hans
thank you andrei, thank you nancy and all the others.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 624 other followers

