photography

9 12 2008

I studied graphic design at the FOLKWANG SCHOOL in ESSEN, germany. the school was the follow-up school of the BAUHAUS-school in weimar and dessau in the twenties of the last century. a lot of my professors had been taught by bauhaus teachers. and they wanted the tradition to continue. in a way the school was structured like CAL ARTS today, all artistic disciplines under one roof, the roof of a former monastery from the 15. century. very atmospheric. so – we had ballet, the dramatic arts ( theatre ), music and design. design again was divided into – graphic design, industrial design, textile design, painting, printing, sculpture and photography. only animation was missing, I introduced that when I started to teach there. the photography professor was OTTO STEINERT, very famous in those days. many of my friends were in the photography class, a lot of them are now pretty well known and members of national geographic and magnum. I got to see what they were doing and that’s how my interest in photography grew. soon I found out that you can paint with your camera as well. later, when I had started to work for disney I was able to create my own reference photo archives. like for BEAUTY AND THE BEAST hundreds of photos of european forests in all seasons, castles, old villages and weather situations. I love photography at least as much as drawing. probably soon I am gonna start another blog where I can publish some of the pictures.

liechtenstein-74-11

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 12 2008
Aaron

Wow that is incredible reference, the kind that one can only get through traveling.

12 12 2008
Clay Kaytis

Oh, I can’t wait! Your photographs were the first thing I looked for when I found this incarnation of your blog. I would love to learn more about photography from you, just as I have learned so much from your current posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 662 other followers

