more pepperland

11 09 2009

there are two reasons for this post – HEINZ EDELMANN passed away a short time ago, in july this year. only 75 years old. he became famous for his production design work on the animated feature YELLOW SUBMARINE in 1968, what is the second reason – apparently there are plans of a motion capture remake of this masterpiece from disney and zemeckis. I don’t want to comment on that.

edelmann+tv cartoon

this is about HEINZ EDELMANN, who was one of my idols for all these years and I never had a chance to meet him. he was already a well known, respected illustrator and graphic designer of posters, bookcovers and advertising art, part of the famous german magazine TWEN when he accepted the offer to design this unusual, crazy pepperland musical. it was in 1967 that heinz edelmann received a call from CHARLIE JENKINS, the director of special effects on that animated film based on the songs of THE BEATLES. it was initially planned that edelman would only work eight weeks during which he would design the look of the movie. in the end he worked an entire year on YELLOW SUMARINE, often sleeping only four hours a night to complete the project. He was in charge of over 200 artists. the film would take a toll on edelmann’s health, it took him two years to recover from working on it.

edelmann 1

the film was a box office hit, the audience loved the unusual creative psychedelic world. stylistically it changed the perception of the look of an animated film for many artists, inclusive me. heinz edelmann did not think about what he had done too much – he said once ‘You know, I never think about what I do afterwards. The moment it’s out of the studio it’s delivered and printed I forget it and I rarely look back at my work and I never sign my work either.’

edelmann 2

edelmann 5

the images here are publications I found in my archives, from the magazine TWEN in the late sixties…

© heinz edelmann
© twen
© apple corps / the beatles

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 09 2009
lily

Thank you for writing about Heinz Edelmann ,Hans, his work deserves more attention than it actually has…
Around me, in my “generation” , very few draftmen/illustrators know how prolific/gifted/coloured/powerful/etc… he was!
It’s a shame,really , because his(beautiful) work for the Submarine seem to have “eclipsed” , in mind’s people , all the rest of his creations…

…Once again, Hans , you give to a large audience some ” keys”,and for that (and for every discover I made thanks to you!)
…merci !

13 09 2009
Robert

Wow, had no idea he worked so hard…Interesting that he always forgot about his past work. The Yellow Submarine is a revolution. I guess that great artists never see their work appreciated as much as they deserve.

13 09 2009
Kellie Strøm

Beautiful – I love the way he drew their hands!

23 09 2009
Joseph

Yellow Submarine is a classic,too bad Robert Zemeckis will bastardize the movie by doing a remake in 3D and in motion capture.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

