searching

13 09 2009

you noticed that I am not a fan of CG and motion capture. but that doesn’t mean that I am against using the latest technology. the problem with the results of these computer-driven movies is that they don’t look artistic at all. they try to copy reality. especially films like BEOWULF. is it really worth all the investment that you might not need expensive actors anymore? and to make it look even more realistic than reality, with 3-D projections and huge imax screens? you hear a lot of stupid talk that traditional animation is dead. sure – I heard that before, black and white film is dead, photography is dead, who needs illustration, we have tv – who needs radio. the only problem with traditional animation is, nobody is brave enough to try new artforms, new combinations of the old with the new technology. maybe soon the audience will be tired of looking at the same plastic movie over and over again. hopefully someone will be there at that moment, with the right visual solution.

for a while I am doing a lot of experimenting, combining painting with photographs, using the latest filter plug ins and other tricks. and always I try to apply a look that I like to a series of single captured frames from some of my live action videos, to see how the manipulated visuals look in movement. it’s amazing what you can do with software that is available for everybody. here are a few examples of my tests…

filter 3

filter 1

filter 4

filter 5

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 09 2009
Karlene

hi Sir, I’m one of the kids who went for a visit last time. hehe its a funny thing i was thinking about doing the same minutes ago. there was this one time that i visited a friend’s house and saw a painting done by a Filipino artist. it was a painting of the Philippines’ local fruits but the paper that the artist used were leaves. I’m not exactly sure what kind of leaves but it looked really nice and very cultural. the leaves’ texture and shape could be seen through out the whole painting. I’ll try to get picture of it from my friend. :)

I was also thinking of doing some experiments on my animation thesis production as well. like, i would use different materials for the background. For instance real sand for beach scene or the local leaves for trees, or coconut fibre for more texture. I just thought “why not use the materials we have in our country? why limit our selves with pen and paper when we can experiment with so much.”

these are just some of my ideas, Sir, it would really help to find out your opinions. :) thank u Sir. :)

14 09 2009
Arian

Hey there, I’m one of the students who sat in your classes a couple of times and I also visited you once. On the topic of the “2D animation is dead” kind of talks, I have hope that it won’t totally be dead. Such light is the development of Adobe Flash and the popularity of web animation. Might I suggest checking out Adam Phillips’ Brackenwood series if you haven’t? http://www.biteycastle.com/content/animation_brk.html
Also the There She Is! series: http://www.feedmecheesy.com/2009/04/20/story-bunny-who-fell-love-cat

Nice experiements with photos. I love the 3rd image especially. The hazy dissolution of the foliage makes it look dreamy.
Thank you for the ideas.

15 09 2009
yy

Hi Hans,

Just thought that you might be interested to check out this film “Machine, a short film” that is currently in production at the Animation Workshop by director Sunit Parekh-Gaihede. It applies 3D characters into scaled miniature set models, and makes use of Lego technology to film the set in the style of stop-motion. I’d say in terms of experimenting with 2 different styles of animation and looks, this film has something going on. I managed to get a glimpse of the miniature sets as they being built in Denmark and they are beautiful, and very intricate.

Here’s the website for you to take a look: http://blog.machinefilm.com/

Hope you enjoy it! :D

Cheers,
Yy

from hans –
hi yanyun, that’s where you are! you are right, it looks stunning. reminds me of the models we had for CATS. I wish them luck and that the final film will look stunning as well. enjoy europe…

16 09 2009
aurorah yarberry

First of all Mr. Bacher, I have your book Dream Worlds and find a lot of inspiration within it’s pages, so I would like to say thank you for all the inspiration. I am a traditional animation student in England, where it seems like just like a lot of other places it has been bitten by the cg bug. I love looking at cg when it’s done well, but I still just view it as another tool in the animators tool box. I’m a traditional girl who enjoys drawing every frame. I feel there is a personal connection with the film when you’ve actually crafted it by hand, so as long as I’m around I’ll be making, and working on hand drawn traditionally animated films. Even if I have to get a day job to support my habit, but hopefully I wont have to.

3 10 2009
jim turner

I love what you’ve done in filter 4. Seems like I’ve seen something very similar being used recently on a project over at Disney’s. Not sure if you were involved or not; or if you’re even aware of the production I’m referring to, but I got to see the rendered test footage in motion and it blew me away. I can only hope that the finished film looks as good as that test footage.

from hans –
good to hear that they are searching as well. no, I am not with disney anymore

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

