denis rich

5 12 2011

during the pre-production of disney’s MULAN I had a chance to work with some amazing talent. like DENIS RICH (1930 – 2007), who did visual development and storyboard work. his drawing style was very precise, with a knowledge of costume design and props. with his vast experience from numerous films he had worked on (supermann 1978, three musketeers 1993, son of the pink panther 1993, return to oz 1985, dark crystal 1982, for your eyes only 1981) he immediately understood what we needed for our film and he came up with incredible atmospheric and rich in detail scenes during the hun attack sequence. we talked once in a while about his work in the pinewood studios in england with some legendary filmmakers, he had some stories to tell. after his mulan work he went back to england and storyboarded on a lot more live action films, some were – harry potter and the order of the phoenix 2007, harry potter and the goblet of fire 2005, harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban 2004, finding neverland 2004, anna and the king 1999, the avengers 1998. below is some of his work on the hun attack in MULAN.


© disney enterprises, inc

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 12 2011
colinstimpson

Hi Hans. Thank you very much for posting some of Denis’ work. He was a wonderful person. He had a unique talent for telling stories, be it with drawings or by telling them in the bar over a glass of wine! During our time time in LA we spent many enjoyable evenings with him. He is greatly missed by all of his friends.

from hans –
you are right, colin. I always realize that too late that I should have spent more time with friends. unfortunately during MULAN it was a bit hectic. but I wish I had heard some more from his past, especially from the time when he worked with BOB GODFREY. I didn’t even know that he was an animator for several years.

7 12 2011
Wolf Kroeger

DENIS RICH ONE OF THE BEST ILLUSTRATORS EVER.
I HAD THE PLEASURE OF WORKING WITH HIM ON MANY MOVIES.MARVELOUS SKETCHES IN CHARCOAL.A LOT OF IT ON HIS
FACE.I HAVE NEVER WORKED WITH ANYBODY MORE TALENTED.
WOLF KROEGER
PRODUCTION DESIGNER

8 12 2011
number777ukEd

Hi Hans,

These are great!

When I look at these drawings I cant really work out how they are drawn. The line is so clean. Would an artist like Dennis just draw these straight off, or would there be rougher and more constructive drawings first as base?

By the way, I really enjoyed your book dream worlds, its full of great advice!

12 12 2011
subwayslimsblog

Hi Hans, Thanks for posting this… having worked as a storyboard artist myself… I found this work to be breathtaking – far beyond the scope of most storyboard work. I look forward to exploring more of your posts.
best regards
Finlay

18 12 2011
Floyd Norman

A delightful chap, I enjoyed working with Denis on two Disney films. “Hunchback” in 1993, and later “Mulan.” Highly underrated, I don’t think his work was fully appreciated at Disney, but what else is new?

I did enjoy his wonderful stories, and a lesson I learned from Denis about live-action filmmaking. Denis told me that in live-action, you can make your bad movie a lot faster. A brilliant wit, I truly miss him.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

