jean paul surin

28 07 2013

on my last trip through southern france I stayed in a hotel in ROUSSILLON, provence. a mural in the entrance hall caught my eye because of its vibrant colors and expressive brushstrokes. it reminded me of VAN GOGH, the motif was one of the villages in the neighborhood, GORDES. I found a catalogue of the artists work on a table next to the wallpainting. JEAN PAUL SURIN, born in 1946 in the ardennes, france, a student of the ecole des beaux arts in paris is for some years now represented in galeries throughout the world. he is a nature painter, applies the oil colors in thick layers on the canvas using a palette knife as well as brushes, sometimes it looks as if he wanted to sculpt his paintings with the palette knife. I am fascinated by his color combinations, you have to spend some time in southern france to believe they really exist. no wonder that most beautiful spot on earth attracted so many artists in the past and still does. see yourself below and let me know what you think…

surinpaintg.0000
surinpaintg.0001
surinpaintg.0002
surinpaintg.0003
surinpaintg.0004
surinpaintg.0005
surinpaintg.0006
surinpaintg.0007
surinpaintg.0008
surinpaintg.0009
surinpaintg.0010
surinpaintg.0011

© jean paul surin

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 08 2013
jacqueline

His paintings does reminds one of van gogh but I get also a stained glass impression. Gentle colors and yet enough to show depth. Beautiful.
I will like to visit southern France in my lifetime and see these colors and scenery with my own eyes. :) Thanks for sharing with us!

10 08 2014
Lizzi

I just went to Paris (Place des Voges) visiting a small gallery who exhibit Surins impressive paintings. So vivid and beautiful colors thick paint and strokes, which also reminded me of Jackson Pollack .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

