tv show

20 09 2008

in the mid-sixties I saw for the first time the DISNEYLAND tv-series on german television, in black and white of course, color was introduced in the late sixties. every single show was an event I planned way in advance. being involved in the gymnasium’s newspaper I was one of the few lucky ones who could use the school’s more modern photocamera. during the tv-show I took one b/w roll of film from the screen, my favorite moments. there was no video at that time. I still have the bad quality pictures I developed and enlarged myself in the school’s darkroom. it cost in those days a lot of effort to get the information you needed and to conserve it. especially about animation. there was only one book about it on the market – THE ART OF WALT DISNEY by BOB THOMAS. that was it! so, the tv shows were pure gold, they gave more of the ‘secrets’ away.

recently I found an article in a 1995 issue of the E-TICKET about the making of these tv-shows. I had no idea how well planned they were. on the air every week they prepared even storyboards for the live action segments and planned walt disney’s moves very well. I post some pictures here drawn by disney artist and WDI imagineer SAM MCKIM. the booards were done for the disneyland programs STORY OF THE SILLY SYMPHONIES oct.1955 and A TRIBUTE TO JOEL CHANDLER HARRIS jan.1956.


© disney enterprises, inc
© the e-ticket


Actions

Information

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




The Hidden History of Oz

Discover the Secrets of an Enchanted World

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The Hidden History of Oz

Discover the Secrets of an Enchanted World

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.